Chris Evans
Chris Evans, who hosted this year’s Radio Academy Awards, was also due to host the event in 2015

The Radio Academy has announced it is scrapping its annual awards ceremony celebrating the UK’s radio industry.

Following Sony’s withdrawal as the headline sponsor last year, the academy said “new models need to be explored”.

It added it planned to create a new event to “celebrate and reflect the radio industry in a dynamic and modern way” for the digital age.

The awards, which first began in 1983, are considered the most prestigious in the radio industry.

It was previously referred to as the Sony Awards, after their sponsor of 32 years, but was renamed the Radio Academy Awards when that sponsorship ended.

“I’m confident and determined that as an industry we can create an exciting and modern event that retains the gravitas of over 30 years of Awards,” Ben Cooper, chair of the Radio Academy, said.

The academy’s Radio Production Awards and its annual Hall of Fame induction will continue as normal.

At the 2014 ceremony, in May, BBC Radio 2 was named UK station of the year while Radio 1’s Zane Lowe was named music radio broadcaster of the year.

Tony Blackburn was also honoured with the Gold Award, in celebration of his 50th year in radio.


Source : BBC